The Heart of the Buddha's Teachings

The Heart of the Buddha's Teachings

Regular price
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

By Thich Nhat Hanh

In The Heart of the Buddha’s Teaching, now revised with added material and new insights, Thich Nhat Hanh introduces us to the core teachings of Buddhism and shows us that the Buddha’s teachings are accessible and applicable to our daily lives.

Covering such significant teachings as the Four Noble Truths, the Noble Eightfold Path, the Three Doors of Liberation, the Three Dharma Seals, and the Seven Factors of Awakening, The Heart of the Buddha’s Teaching is a radiant beacon on Buddhist thought for the initiated and uninitiated alike.

paperback, 288 pages.

Table of Contents

Part One: The Four Noble Truths
Chapter One: Entering the Heart of the Buddha
Chapter Two: The First Dharma Talk
Chapter Three: The Four Noble Truths
Chapter Four: Understanding the Buddha's Teachings
Chapter Five: Is Everything Suffering?
Chapter Six: Stopping, Calming, Resting, Healing
Chapter Seven: Touching Our Suffering
Chapter Eight: Realizing Well-Being

Part Two: The Noble Eightfold Path
Chapter Nine: Right View
Chapter Ten: Right Thinking
Chapter Eleven: Right Mindfulness
Chapter Twelve: Right Speech
Chapter Thirteen: Right Action
Chapter Fourteen: Right Diligence
Chapter Fifteen: Right Concentration
Chapter Sixteen: Right Livelihood

Part Three: Other Basic Buddhist Teachings
Chapter Seventeen: The Two Truths
Chapter Eighteen: The Three Dharma Seals
Chapter Nineteen: The Three Doors of Liberation
Chapter Twenty: The Three Bodies of Buddha
Chapter Twenty-One: The Three Jewels
Chapter Twenty-Two: The Four Immeasurable Minds
Chapter Twenty-Three: The Five Aggregates
Chapter Twenty-Four: The Five Powers
Chapter Twenty-Five: The Six Paramitas
Chapter Twenty-Six: The Seven Factors of Awakening
Chapter Twenty-Seven: The Twelve Links of Interdependent Co-Arising
Chapter Twenty-Eight: Touching the Buddha Within

Part Four: Discourses
- Discourse on Turning the Wheel of the Dharma (Dhamma Cakka Pavattana Sutta)

- Discourse on the Great Forty (Mahacattarisaka Sutta)

- Discourse on Right View (Sammaditthi Sutta)